Poets logo

Yellow String Beings

First Contact

By Stephanie J. BradberryPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
Yellow String Beings
Photo by Marcel Strauß on Unsplash

This is it

That balmy realm

A dimension accessible only through loss of self and heightened consciousness

Where I meet primary yellow aliens; or, rather, they meet an extraterrestrial

I still don’t know their name

What’s it been? Two or three times?

Maybe four if I count the account of the encounter by a friend

A shared dream must make it a reality

(No, I don’t think it means WE should be)

Here it is

That misty elevation

A portal for first contact dissolving into repeat performances, stage fright and hesitation

Where I greet mustard yellow string beings; or, rather, they greet a water sack of carbon, hydrogen, oxygen, nitrogen

I still don’t know their name

They don’t know mine

What’s it been now? Two or three times?

Perhaps four if I count the account my son encountered of unmellow yellow yarn things

A shared curiosity abounds, which might make this a reality

There it was

That singular vastness

An astral plane made manifest in the corner of my soul’s mind and shimmery sliver of the universe

Where I piqued swirling vortices of xanthic yarn squiggling round and round while simultaneously bobbing up and down

I guess that movement helps them keep their form

Will a fourth first contact spurred by loss of mortal sense against space time break the rift?

Because for now all they do is gyrate on the edge of a gray cliff

fact or fiction
5

About the Creator

Stephanie J. Bradberry

I have a passion for literature and anime. And I love everything involving academia, health, metaphysics and entrepreneurship.

For products and services, visit: stephaniebradberry.com

For online courses, visit: bradberryacademy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    I swear I was reading about string beans, took a while to see BEINGS. I swear I am still not sure. Really mystifying great poetry.

  • Whoaaa, this was so deep and mesmerising!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    So cool! I really felt the stream of consciousness flow to this. I liked the repeating lines and the slight changes each time. Well done!!

  • Jordan Harrisabout a year ago

    What a poem! Wacky yet interesting!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.