Poets logo

Yellow-Sour Smile

It's Okay to Not be Okay

By Mina WiebePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Credit: Lidya Kohen, Pexels.com

I see through feigned smiles;

fogged glass wiped clear

with sweater sleeves,

your grin thin

flimsy

forced

I see the way your eyes

dim

birthday candles

blown,

extinguished,

yellow speckled sparks

to smoke

Your smile is

citrus

lemon-sour, twitching

to

fall

I’ll lift the zester

to your lips, cake batter

mixed, baked and

swirled

in merigold whirls

Whispers over coffee

cream over ice, blonde

mushroomed

through brown--

golden,

metamorphosed

our mugs leave

butterscotch rings,

your tears show

lilac undereyes

dripping,

cheek to chin

I see through your smile

when you laugh,

call your eyebags

Prada

when the pearl-pink slits

in your nerve-bitten lips

e x p a n d

like egg shell

cracks,

your nail beds

raw, ivory-gnawed

tusk to peach,

a pit stashed

in your pocket,

rubbed

like a rabbit’s foot.

I see through your smile

when I’m stung

by the bees

swarming

your honeycomb head,

pinched

when I prod

pricked

when I persist.

I’ll cut the cake,

serve it with lemon seeds

in candied slices,

amber-preserved;

curled sugar peels

for garnish

and when the coffee’s gone,

I pour tea.

I see through feigned smiles

when I hear your voice

wobble, greyed

heavied,

an elephant

whipped to dance

I see the salmon-pink

loops on your wrists

where you’ve wrung,

teal river veins run

to palms.

I see through your smile

when

I’ve worn

that same grin.

Pinched

stiff

performed,

lips clung to gums

eyes unfocused

the world

muddy

splotchy

hazy

blues in tango

with greens, a

kaleidoscope blur.

You don’t have to wear it around me,

that Thalia mask, that

showbiz smile--

--it’s not a sin

to not be

okay.

Hang the mask

on a coat rack, feel

your cheeks melt,

soft, like butter left

in sunlight-slivers,

yellow to yellow

lemon to mouth,

downturned

puckered

pursed

a Melpomene frown

your lilypad eyes

swollen with

dew,

rippled

compressed.

I see through feigned smiles

and I’ll stay

for the hurricanes

I’ll stay

to top off mugs,

transform tepid tea

with ice

and mint and

brown sugar cubes

and honey;

a dance of velocities

I’ll stay

to listen; to

cry with you, and scream

and sob, ‘til the yellow

settles

below brown, caked

to cup,

golden dregs.

I’ll be here

while you

frown

until your smile is

sanguine;

candid,

unfeigned.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Mina Wiebe

Figuring things out; finding my voice. Thanks for visiting.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.