Poets logo

Yellow Roses

Taken Far Too Soon

By A. R. AmbrosiPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

In the language of flowers

Yellow roses mean

Friendship and joy

There are no better qualities

To describe you

Pleasant to all

And bursting with cheer

I found it so, so fitting

That they placed yellow roses

On your coffin

And knowing their meaning

It chokes me up

Still, even now

It was such a beautiful way

To symbolically describe

Exactly who you were

Your favourite colour was yellow

The colour of happiness

Optimism

And creativity

Everything you were

Everything you were supposed to be

You were taken from this world

When you were just a child

Sometimes I wonder

What kind of man

You would be today

I imagine you'd be creative

Perhaps a musician

Or an artist

I imagine you'd have lots of friends

And a pretty girlfriend

To bring to meet me

And perhaps a motorbike

And a leather jacket

I don't like to think about

The day you were taken away

So I distract my mind

With thoughts such as these

I think instead of how you would be

If you were still here

You'd be nineteen now

Perhaps you'd be in college

Or preparing to start a family

I know you'd still be the same

As you were as a child

Charming, mirthful

And always loving

But everytime I see yellow roses

I think of you

My sweet little nephew

Taken far too soon

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

A. R. Ambrosi

I like to write, if that makes me a writer, then rock on!

I started writing as a child because I ran out of stuff to read. So, I only write stuff that I like. If you like it too, awesome! Enjoy! ^_^

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.