Poets logo

Yellow leaves and their shadows

delirium

By Andrei Z.Published 11 months ago 1 min read
9

All thoughts aboard, astray, abound,

They seem to lose what I've just found.

You seem to be another glitch,

Aloof and cold and within reach.

Another stitch, another draw.

We score the goals through open doors.

Atop, beneath the starless sky

There used to be just you and I.

There used to gaze with gentle grace

Upon your face, without a trace

Of guilty grief or fake relief.

I am so cheap. A thief in chief

You are, in charge.

Some more groundwater to recharge.

Some more ground rules

To break, to stamp.

The stubborn mules,

The star-born prince, in his attempt

To know the world, he might

Have left his rose to wilt.

Is there a chance to reignite

The life, the spark through all this guilt?

Through all this mess?

Get on your knees, no more, no less.

Arrest my thoughts, arrest my self,

Lock me in cellars of grey cells.

Forget me not, forgive me not,

I'll drink and rot. I fought

And lost. To quench the thirst,

Some things go first.

Some never last.

A broken lock

And shattered trust.

surreal poetrynature poetry
9

About the Creator

Andrei Z.

Overthinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Poignant and beautiful ❤

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    Love lost never to be regained. The prince who forgot his rose. This was so lovely Andrei, and a bit sad. A profound story. Hope still.

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Playful but emotionally riveting. I especially like: "The stubborn mules, The star-born prince, in his attempt To know the world, he might Have left his rose to wilt." Le Petit Prince?

  • Oooo, this was so emotional! Very powerful! Fantastic job on this one!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Loved the placement of the rhymes here. It created a unique flow to the innate frustration throughout this piece. Well done!

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    This is beautiful and yet so full of regret. Dare I say, hints of self-loathing at an inability to change? The thief presented here is so compelling. I feel he is a slave to his own mind and impulses and has lost his love to it all. “Forget me not, forgive me not, I'll drink and rot. I fought And lost. To quench the thirst, Some things go first. Some never last. A broken lock And shattered trust.“ How utterly sad. Your words get to the root of the emotions so well. It’s like a dance. Beautiful work, Andrei, as always. ❤️👏👏👏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.