Poets logo

Yellow

SJ (Chameleon)

By SJ OliverPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Can you imagine a colour between pink and green?

Orange hair and freckles

Turned to dust

The dream stops dead in its tracks, an unforgiving sin.

I am 16 again, no older no younger, that time I first began to lose naivety,

where we are so young and feeble

Until the very end

I have written in the passive tense

For the last time

I call this yellow, bittersweet optimism

That I can look up to the sky for

But never had in my back pocket

It lives above me and calls my name sometimes,

As if to say, well done, you made it

The stripes on my school tie and blazer stitched on my skin

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

SJ Oliver

www.Instagram.com/myliberalpony

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.