Poets logo

Yellow

Yellow, as yellow, as yellow can be.

By Justine RuffPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Yellow
Photo by Sergey Shmidt on Unsplash

Am I defined,

By a single line?

What color today?

If I am unsure do I still say?

My favorite will always be,

Yellow, as yellow as yellow can be.

Its sunny disposition always trying to shine light into me.

I've loved and lost a variety of many,

Not always sticking to the colors defined as primary,

Getting myself into shades of green and orange,

And remembering that nothing rhymes with orange.

I guess today I feel a little bit green,

Or a little bit blue,

The mix, that sticks, makes it harder to define.

For yellow to mix with other colors of the rainbow,

A beautiful result most always seems to follow.

I am unique, primary, and true,

Maybe a bit forgotten and a little bit confused.

Yellow, sweet yellow,

You're the color of my soul,

The aura that surrounds it,

The love I have to spread,

To all the colors within our world.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Justine Ruff

Justine Ruff lives in Southern Colorado with her one husband, two children, four dogs, and a meow.

Justine’s first novel, Take My Whole Life Too, was met with many rave reviews and praise. .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.