Poets logo

Yellow

Just Loitering in the Solar Plex

By Violet P. DaviesPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

A glowing ball of putty pulp

Squelching around deep in your abdomen

It flinches at the splash of alcohol

Cased in skin, cloaked in black and blue

When you want to hurt, and you take off your head

You crawl into the costume of your old self

And shoot off howdys in beaming globs

That stick to my brain and my fingers

I am worried

And I loved you once

So my fingers stick to the screen,

Though the gleam’s all wrong,

The light cuts up that ascorbic stain

Yet I’m tethered

And I try to connect

As you try to connect

As the ball tries to UV blast

Through the blue and black

It doesn’t

It bounces and braces and reaches and swims

In the burning spirits that eat it and feed it

It’s thick and alive and trapped

Cased in skin, cloaked in black and blue

I am worried, and I loved you once

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Violet P. Davies

Words make me feel fulfilled occasionally.

Keep track of me on Insta @purpleproseandposies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.