Poets logo

Yearning For More

Yearning for Closeness & The Landscape Isn’t Enough - Lockdown Poems

By Holly HewittPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2

Yearning for Closeness

The walls are closing in as my patience draws thin

I need potential a potent potential

The potential of love of meeting someone new

Of having the opportunity to start a conversation

Not knowing if it will go anywhere

I crave the unexpected interactions we have daily

Like the random chat with the stranger at the station

Or the flirtatious glares over pints at a bar

That deep-felt laughter you can only have with friends

The infectious type that spreads like pollen in the wind

That effects your eyes in the same way

Streaming tears

Face to face

Yet all we are left with is the fear and anxiety

If we go near another, we my catch the virus

Or worse be harbouring unsavoury fellows

Pass them on

Our interactions are killing each other

Are closeness banned

Hugging is almost unheard of

Let’s not mention holding hands

I drink beer but it doesn’t taste the same drank alone

I drink more but I’m left with a sour taste of discontent

Dancing alone in the kitchen was fun a couple of times

Dancing alone sucks really

When will we dance together again?

I don’t want to stare at you on a screen

I want to stare into your eyes

Followed by a warm embrace

If only you could whisper into my ear

Hold my hand

Invade my space

Because my space it needs to be captured

It needs to be shared

I want to invite a stranger into my space

A fresh new interaction

Even if only for a moment

Face to face

The Landscape Isn’t Enough

I stare longingly into the landscape

It normally offers peace

Creates a restorative feeling

Realigns thoughts

Harnesses tranquillity

Not today

There is no solace in nature

Only more loneliness

More isolation

I usually seek remoteness in the hills

But I can’t go there

I’m lucky to live local to countryside

To go outside

Be alive even

Wander in the safety of space

Still no comfort is found

Not today

Here is a place of stillness

Calm content

This isn’t what I’m searching for

What I’m yearning for

I long for the touch of another

For physical human contact

Today I want you

All of you

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Holly Hewitt

My art has developed from my relationship with nature and mental health, discovering an embodied experience and feelings of transcendence. I combine poetry, video and drawing. For more visit www.hollyhewitt.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.