Poets logo

Yeah We're Dancing

inspired by Lord of the Flies

By Charles TurnerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Yeah We're Dancing
Photo by Robert Collins on Unsplash

I can't stand horses

And of course it's

The only way to ride

Down rhe slimy steps

The labored pony trips

Along the slopes we slide

I smell the juices

In the sluices

I journey with my bride

Burning in the acid

And we're turning flaccid

Still we slip inside

In the belly of the fly

In the belly of the fly

In the belly of the fly

In the belly of the fly

It's a ballroom

In the belly of the fly

My bride is bursting

In her gown of white

I'm rehearsing

In the belly of the fly

In the ballroom

In the ballroom

In the ballroom

In the belly of the fly

Now we're dancing

And we're dancing

Yeah we're dancing

In the belly of the fly

I don't know where you are

Maybe from another star

You turned and baby there you are

You turned and baby there you are

In the belly

In the belly

In the belly

It's a ballroom

In the belly of the fly

You turned and baby there you are

(repeat lines 9 through 17)

This was inspired by the novel Lord of the Flies, heavily influenced by Leonard Cohen's songwriting style.

art
Like

About the Creator

Charles Turner

My work is based on who I am now and have been in the past. It is based on a lifetime of reading. Autobiography, standard fiction, sci/fi, fantasy, westerns. I plan to put together a collection of short stories to publish via Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.