Poets logo

Written words

Just another poem

By MaKayla Published 9 months ago 2 min read
3

Written words are the words you use when you’re too hurt to talk,

Written words are the words you use when everything feels like your fault,

Written words are what you use when you see no other way,

Because if you try to speak, you’ll just break down for the hundredth time today,

Written words express emotion,

They show who you are,

They expose your true intentions,

When you can’t get that far.

Written words express love,

They express how broken and bruised you feel,

Written words are enough,

To make everything terrible around you, feel a little less real,

Written words, they personally help me,

Because I try to talk about how I feel, I end up crying a savage sea,

Even written words can make you cry sometimes,

They can make you terrified,

But sometimes they make you wish,

That you were they book they wrote that night.

Written words are the words you write,

Before you end it all,

And written words are the words you write,

When you think you’re gonna fall,

Written words are all the poems I’ve ever wrote,

A tear stain on the page,

All the stories you’ve ever read,

A confusing letter, expressing rage,

A song about a broken heart,

To make us understand your heartache,

Written words can make you feel a little less alone,

Written words,

Are the words, that I should’ve shown,

The words that I should’ve known,

Would help me let go,

But instead of moving on,

I’m back to where I started,

Because I have no written words to show,

I don’t have the written words to explain my emotions,

I don’t have the written words to show all of my broken,

Though written words have no maximum capacity,

Written words can’t explain how I feel,

Without him walking after me,

Though written words go beyond forever,

None can ever explain,

Why I never,

Really, truly, complained.

But written words are as close as I can get,

To understanding the limitations of my heart,

To expressing the expectations Ive had that had been torn apart,

Written words,

The best way to understand,

Written words,

The only way I really can

surreal poetryperformance poetry
3

About the Creator

MaKayla

I started writing real poetry this year, though I’ve been rhym-crazed since forever. It’s just something that helps me express how I feel when I’m too akward to say it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani9 months ago

    I really like this. I believe so much in the power of words and this line really resonated - "Because if you try to speak, you’ll just break down for the hundredth time today,"

  • Brenda Bertucci9 months ago

    Very well written and express. Loved this and felt it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.