Poets logo

Writing For A Challenge With The Topic Of Connection

Submitted to "Lake Superior Writers" and now to Vocal

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Writing For A Challenge With The Topic Of Connection
Photo by Noah Buscher on Unsplash

A Type Of Connection

It was a surprise to me in one section,

Webster says a form of connection:

is a narcotics supplier.

****

I so often knew my husband was a liar.

He would tell me he quit using drugs,

and he would stop giving hugs,

as he knew I could smell drugs on him then.

****

He could go straight for a while, when

he was in jail or treatment.

He could never have any contentment.

He died from his addiction.

So many of us die from this condition.

We never know who will make it.

****

I did. It has been 42 years without one bit.

The bonus of the relationship is our children.

And now it is grandchildren and great-grandchildren.

Peace and joy and so much more!

****

It is something that you have in store,

when you stop using,

and stop boozing.

No more of that kind of connection

****

Not a connection for me anymore in that section.

My ex-husband was a narcotics supplier when he died.

He died from his supply and many cried.

It is tough to see a good man die.

****

He couldn’t kick the addiction, big sigh.

It is referred to as a disease,

and it does kill too often geez!

Do not think it is a weakness and treatment is a tease?

****

Treatment doesn’t work for everyone.

He was in treatment five times and not one

did the trick, he was very sick. For some, it takes more time

than he was given or took.

For others, like some that rhyme,

it worked for me and I look

healthy and content at sixty-nine.

heartbreaksad poetryperformance poetry

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Abigail Penhallegonabout a year ago

    Good job with this one- I love the use of the Webster definition as an opening, and I appreciate that, although you clearly outlined the problems of drug usage, there is a clear idea that drug usage does not make a person bad. Everyone had their own problems.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Awesome performance poem, Denise!!! Left some love!!!

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.