Poets logo

Writetober Day 6 - Only The Wind

Be wary - the forest isn't always peaceful.

By Hannah GrayPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Writetober Day 6 - Only The Wind
Photo by Ben McCloskey on Unsplash

Hyello! I'm BAAAaaaack!! And here with a spooky story for you all. A tale of intrigue, a literary work to make you quiver in your boots.... Can you guess the prompt before the end?

Good luck, reader.

Mwahahahaahaahaha!!

;)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The cold air hits me like a knife, tearing through my lungs, making it hard to breathe.

I should have brought a jacket, I think.

I continue walking, the sound of frost-covered leaves crunching underneath my feet echoing through the forest.

I walk, the wind picking up again, causing an involuntary quiver down my spine.

And then, there is one crunch too many.

I spin around – I am still alone.

Alone.

Maybe a deer, I think.

A little further… another crunch that is not my own.

And again.

And again.

Again.

My heart begins to quake.

I walk faster, and the other footsteps follow.

Faster.

And faster.

I sprint – I can see my house now.

The icy air is back – but this time, it’s different.

This time, I-

The leaves on the trees quiver.

The candle flame in my window shudders into nothing.

The cold air is still.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

You have done well reader, and survived the forest. But have you ventured safely to the other side with the prompt?

Ah, well, if not... it was Shiver!

Let me know if you got it right in the comments, but also...

... were you scared?

Farewell, for now.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Hannah Gray

Hello! I love to write! I draw inspiration from life - whether that be my own or things I see in the world. I love writing about life experiences, and I would love to hear if you connect with any of my work! All are welcome and loved here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.