Poets logo

Writetober, Day 2 - Companion of Destruction

A Poem

By Hannah GrayPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2022
70
Writetober, Day 2 - Companion of Destruction
Photo by Hamish Weir on Unsplash

Alright, here is day two! Once again, the prompt is not explicitly mentioned in the piece - you have to guess! If you get it before I reveal it at the end, please let me know - that way I can make future pieces either harder or easier! :D

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I am not the flame.

.

I am not the flame,

But I tell of it.

Flame devours all before it,

But what is consumed is carried by me

High into the sky above.

.

I do not consume,

But consume me, and beware.

My destruction comes in this way;

Breathing becomes, for you, unfeasible.

.

I am not the flame,

But the havoc I bring into the world

Can be far more nightmarish,

Spreading my indistinguishable reach

Further than the flame ever could.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Did you get it? It's smoke!

Hopefully, that one was easier to get. See you in the next story (or rather, riddle, hehe).

surreal poetry
70

About the Creator

Hannah Gray

Hello! I love to write! I draw inspiration from life - whether that be my own or things I see in the world. I love writing about life experiences, and I would love to hear if you connect with any of my work! All are welcome and loved here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Susan Downsabout a year ago

    LOL! I didn't get it, but after the "aha" moment in the end when you revealed that it was SMOKE, I could have slapped myself. Well done!

  • Efulabout a year ago

    Good Job, I love your articles

  • yunick jovittaabout a year ago

    I want to praise you

  • Jacob Haroldabout a year ago

    I liked this. It felt like reading a riddle.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.