Poets logo

Writer's Block

A Tanka

By Matthew FrommPublished 17 days ago 1 min read
12
Writer's Block
Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

this idea sucks

within, it's clear as summer

on paper, it dies

chase the feeling, find the voice

if you do, readers rejoice

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A/N:

And there's the Tanka! If you've enjoyed this, please leave a like and an insight below. If you really enjoyed this, tips to fuel my coffee addiction are always appreciated. All formatting is designed for desktops. All my works can be found below:

SenryuStream of ConsciousnessMental HealthinspirationalHaikuFor Fun
12

About the Creator

Matthew Fromm

Full-time nerd, history enthusiast, and proprietor of random knowledge. The best way to find your perfect story is to write it yourself.

Here there be dragons, and knights, and castles, and quests for entities not wishing to be found.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk16 days ago

    Love that you are so well-versed (pardon the pun) on poetry. It is true that poems I most enjoy are the ones that make me "feel" something.

  • Lamar Wiggins16 days ago

    Never heard of a tanka. Hopefully the word gods make their rounds and flood your pages until your pen runs dry.

  • On paper it dies. I'm sure many of us would be able to relate to that. Loved your poem!

  • Christy Munson17 days ago

    Thank you for exposing me to poetry formats and structures. This piece is the first tanka I've read. I usually have no issues with writer's block. My mind works the other way round - too many ideas that I need them to quiet down sometimes. Then recently with some sadness happening for my family, I've been in there, in that writer's block space, and it blows. Great job expressing the frustration.

  • Hannah Moore17 days ago

    Never head of a tanka! Sometimes though, I think just enjoy the feeling, not everything needs to be pinned down with language!

  • Emily Binkley17 days ago

    So relatable!

  • I love how in such few words you perfectly convey the struggle between internal clarity and external expression and remind us to keep chasing that feeling to finding our voice. Wonderful, wonderful job here Matthew!!!

  • Know the feeling, just happened to me , but something good still happened

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.