Poets logo

Writer's Block

Chasing Words

By Jefferey A AyersPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Writer's Block
Photo by Matthew McBrayer on Unsplash

Nothing feels darker than a serious case of writer’s block

I sit here in this flawless setting

with my heart as at rest as my thoughts

but nothing comes to me

the gentle breeze stirs my soul

like the soft green leaves on the trees that surround me

yet my pen rests

Blessed to be in the presence of such beauty

I lie on the shore of a crystal clear lake

as blue as the cloudless summer sky above me

digging my toes into the soft red clay beneath my feet

yet my pen rests

Words should come easy

I am content here

I have my pole in water

and a pen in my hand

yet my pen rests

I lean back and take in a long steady breath

refreshing myself with this crisp, cool mountain air

the only impeding scent is that of my early morning campfire

the birds have started singing

and I just watched a beaver wade slowly into the cold still water

leaving a wake of ripples as he floated off…

yet my pen rests

That is when it hits me

this whole time I have been searching for the right words

and they have been right in front of my face

The sights, the sounds, the smells

even the empty moments in time

this is my serenity

my comfort

my inspiration

I have had my eyes and ears here with me

and my mind stuck at home

now once again they become one in this place of beauty

and my pen rests no longer

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jefferey A Ayers

I am an aspiring writer who was born and raised in the Pacific Northwest. I joined vocal out of desire, and curiosity. This will be the first time I have put my writing out in the public, and I look forward to hearing what you all think.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.