Poets logo

Write for Your Life

Michael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Cutting razor

blade of life

Pointless, dull

existence knife

Sharpened by

the edge of strife

Won't somebody

save my life

From this wretched,

worthless knife

Buried in

my skin of strife

This sorrow stalks

its prey of life

And sets it teeth

of biting knife

Upon my flesh

to feast on strife

Vampiric in its

draining life

This empty, soulless,

cold-heart knife

Shall feel the warmth

of crimson strife

Until the streams

of dripping life

Release my grip

upon this knife

And rivers flow

in tranquil strife

See I know why

you've courted strife

I've tasted lips

of the sweet knife

Her tempting kiss

was my whole life

Through bloody tears

and sweaty strife

I've cried with every

lonely knife

That spends each day

so lost in life

Adrift at sea

shipwreck of strife

Beckoned by

beguiling knife

To drown in siren

songs of life

Through Odysseys

of epic strife

I forged a sword

to replace knife

Allowed this pen

to claim my life

An argonaut

against the strife

To tides of ink

I cast the knife

Now fight with me

write for your life

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.