Poets logo

WriteCreativley Poetry

poems from the heart.

By Hareem NadeemPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
WriteCreativley Poetry
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

#1

Don't ask me how I am

Even the world has forgotten.

Don't ask me how I am

Even my own have forgotten.

What can I say how I am

Even I have forgotten.

#2

He was her sun

She was his moon

They were like an eclipse,

One that ended too soon.

Remembered for decades,

The story of two.

How they could bring calamity,

And quite beautifully too.

#3 Muzzafrabad; My Home

Mountains touching the heavens,

Apparel as vivid as the rainbow,

Each neighbor like kin,

Crowded, together, alive,

The town I was born in.

They tell me you are polluted and I know it, for I have breathed in your air and seen your people toil.

They tell me you are corrupt and I answer, I know, for I have seen your men leading awry. They say you are brutal and I reply yes, for I have heard the howls of the innocent.

They tell me you are cruel And I reply again, I know, for I have witnessed the abrupt passing of healthy people. I have seen the homeless laying hopelessly in rubble-filled streets.

So having responded to their taunts I glare at those that protest my town, and I oppose them.

Come and see what lies beneath the silhouettes of corruption, the family that is close, the strangers who help the poor.

Come and listen to the stories told by the elders to the adolescent. Come, feel the bond that ties are so strong.

Tall and rough, it withstands the wind.

Cunning yet motherly,

patriotic and homely,

under all the dust, the laughter of children echoes around, through many tragedies, despite many battles,

it still, even today stands as one,

Strong and proud

my city,

My home.

#4

The concept of time that we were taught

Slowly loses its meaning now

When our kids are this age and they ask

I'll tell them there was a moment in our lives

That time never ran

#5

When I am gone

Please don't hold on to me so much

That my memory weighs you down

When I'm gone

please dont let yourself become too numb

Please acknowledge your pains

And treasure those who stay

And When I'm gone

please live on

With comfort in your heart

Because

When I am gone

In you I will live on

#6

Everyday she prayed for a miracle and everyday she was disappointed

Everytime she was defeated and unanswered ran her cries

Why had no one come to save her

Why had her prayers been unheard

But what she did not know was

She was her own miracle.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Hareem Nadeem

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.