Poets logo

Wrath of the Honeybees

Children's Humorous poem about a boy intent on eking out the last of the fun:: Subtitle "Path to the Bath" ::: pbpatch.wixsite.com/pbpatch

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 2 years ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
1
Wrath of the Honeybees
Photo by MI PHAM on Unsplash

Wrath of the Honey Bees ... Path to the Bath

What did I hear, what do I fear

Water on porcelain oh dear oh dear

Mama just said time for my bath

Dart out door and down the path

Over sidewalk through the hedge

Shove off curb, over the edge

Splash through puddle escape to the trees

Snagged my shirt, skinned my knees

Yay I’m clear, now’s time for fun

Just a few more minutes, there’s still sun

Mom is calling but she’ll be fine

She loves to tell me the day is mine

Catch spiders lizards kiss me a frog

Search for beetles under rotten old log

Climb an oak tree the better to see

Where is it at that buzzing old bee

There above a honeycombed nest

Ooh just taste it, ain’t it the best

Sniff and smell as bees swarm round

Circling buzzing a really neat sound

Stick in a finger for just one taste

Licky sticky yummy gummy paste

More bees are swarming flying about

Fall from tree scream and shout

Whoops! Oops! Ow! That really hurts!

Mean old bees they’re really the worst

Stomp the comb and take off fast

One tasty treat will have to last

Runnin’ dodgin’ swattin’ at bees

Save me Mom! I’ll eat my peas!

Dart in door slam it shut

Sorry for mud and burrs on my butt

Bath time you said I’m ready now Mom

Yes I look like a filthy dirt bomb

Mama shakes head follows her cub

Off with the clothes into the tub

Sighs and chuckles kisses boo-boo

Time for a bath with Winnie the Pooh

childrens poetrynature poetry
1

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Deborah Lane2 years ago

    This was very funny and very real. Great job.

  • Emily Williamson2 years ago

    This poem is so cute I couldn’t help but smile. I will read it to my grandkids. Great work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.