Poets logo

Woven Vessel

Tarnanthi Art Fair

By Linda BromleyPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Like

As the waves draw into shore

I wrap my netted dress of

Generational stories around me

And I become one with it

As its skirts meld with my legs

My footprints in the sand

Dance the song of grandmother

Watching over me

Willing me to feel the spirit

Of ancestors beneath my feet

I hold my woven necklace

A crown of interlaced lives

Shared as together we braid

Our lore and life as women

Bound stronger than diamonds

Before I leave this sacred ground

Wisps of dried grass catch me

And colourful feathers found

Are add to my dress

Glued with the clay of my country

The shells I discover at water’s edge

Turn into heart shaped jewels

To adorn and highlight my journey

Of womanhood as waves

Brush the strands of my gown

I look at the Songlines beneath my feet

That trace my life and connect my family

A map of love but more than that

As I step into the cool blue water

Foamy on my toes

It connects to my very soul

For I am that woven vessel

Ekphrastic
Like

About the Creator

Linda Bromley

Just one of many creative outlets for me has been books! My whole life I’ve loved them and it’s so easy to make the jump to writing.

Recently I completed a poetry challenge and now, looking for more excuses to write, I’ve found myself here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.