Poets logo

Wounded Past

My entry for the Villanelle Poetry Challenge

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 5 months ago • Updated 5 months ago • 1 min read
5
Wounded Past
Photo by Artak Petrosyan on Unsplash

Childhood trauma dripped with a painful past.
All I'm left with is the memories of the wounds you inflicted,
My hollowed out heart will forever remain in a cast.

The questions that nobody asked.
Endless fights that were left with misunderstandings and contradiction.
My life was pretty grand when compared to other people's childhoods in contrast.

Revolving door arguments that left us feeling like we were walking around barefoot on broken glass.
A few of my childhood memories have become restricted.
I just want a hug, is that really too much to ask?

We were at war with our minds like a supposed sunny day with a chance of rain overcast.
With the pain we wear on our sleeve from scars that were self-inflicted.
We are just a generation of broken children with an enormous past.

My childhood memories are smashed.
I became the black sheep of the flock which was absolutely unpredicted.
The war going on in my mind is absolutely trashed.


Because honestly nobody asked.
They just assumed I was alright growing up astricted.
I pretended everything was fine for a while but I became the world's biggest outcast.
With a huge hole in my heart that forced myself to hide from real life so fast.

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

sad poetryinspirationalCONTENT WARNING
5

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    So very insightful and and descriptive of emotional pain. Beautifully written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.