Poets logo

Working Definition

I had a learning disability which went undiagnosed until the middle of fifth grade.

By D'Shan BerryPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Working Definition
Photo by Element5 Digital on Unsplash

Work:

Meaning exertion or effort

To produce or accomplish something.

A definition acid etched

Onto my fifth grade self.

I'd fallen short, again;

Left things unfinished, lacking.

Up to the front,

My teacher bade me walk, alone.

"Read the definition, aloud."

I apologized to no avail.

"Read it, now," so, I began.

The snickers started slowly,

Faintly, and then grew.

Their pointing fingers,

Made blurry by my tears.

I yearned to dissolve

Into a puddle on the floor.

The words ceased to flow

Past the lump in my throat.

Finally, she let me return

To my desk,

My head hung down

In shame.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

D'Shan Berry

I love words. I love art. I love Jesus.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.