Poets logo

Worked to the Bone

Limerick

By Kristen BalyeatPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
Worked to the Bone
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

If you want to thrive on this spinning rock,

You best be working 'round the clock.

Inflation rates are off the charts-

Can't scrape by working in the arts...

No wonder my nerves are in shock.

fact or fiction
4

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Gal Muxabout a year ago

    Very true...

  • Mohammed Darasiabout a year ago

    The ever so (sadly) true.. "c.r.e.a.m".. cash rules everything around me

  • Madison Newtonabout a year ago

    Unfortunate but super true.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.