Poets logo

Words

A Search for Comfort

By Reagan ParkerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
3
Words
Photo by Digital Content Writers India on Unsplash

Wrap me in your arms, oh Summer Heat,

When Winter’s white frost lays siege in the street.

Oh Winter, will you sweep over me,

When Summer’s blazing rays make it too hard to see?

Whisper in my ear, oh Trickling Rain.

Whisper comforting words when Dark Clouds bring me pain.

Hide me from the storm, my Sweet Abode,

When Rain, in his anger, storms down his load.

Oh Forest, will you envelop me,

When Abode turns to prison and I need to run free?

Set my eyes towards safety, you Fiery Light,

When Forest turns against me and allies with Night.

Night, oh Night, you so torment me!

But I need your ear to hear my plea.

Sea, you are a vast city of blue,

Hiding beneath, your citizens from view.

Peace I find at your border, on the shore.

But your violent waves pound when I wish to have more.

My Friends, without them what would life be?

I’d be carrying a load far too weighty for me.

But when blinded, they can fire a wounding blow.

And I retreat to the dark and they don’t even know.

Family is forever, I’ll love them to the end,

And I know, in my need, I’ll never have to fend.

But I’m wandering down a different way,

And home is not where I’m meant to stay.

Life gives comfort, but then takes it away.

It’s like a mist that fades and my pleas have no sway.

My need is for something to mold.

Like clay in my hand to have and to hold.

And when Life takes a left, I’ll form it for right.

And when Life turns to night, I’ll ignite it with light.

I need something that’s consistent, but never the same.

A picture that fits into every frame.

It must be simple and subtle, but bold with great might,

And comfort falls upon me when it comes to my sight.

Is there a word for such a thing?

WORD! Oh Word, you are what I seek!

You will mold into whatever I make.

As I place you alongside your many brothers

You can be to me a story of lovers.

Or if I wish to see raging war

And rest a while in heroic lore,

You’ll give to me that which I seek :

A land of my choice, pleasant or bleak.

Book is your home, oh Word,

And you flutter there like a bird.

Singing the tunes that I conduct,

And building a world that I construct.

And while everything in this world brings me comfort or pain

Let me for a little while escape in my brain ,

And let Words sweep me away to peace.

Come find me in a place where Words never cease.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Reagan Parker

"And while everything in this world brings me comfort or pain

Let me for a little while escape in my brain ,

And let Words sweep me away to peace.

Come find me in a place where Words never cease. "

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.