Poets logo

Words Search for Home

Where will they go?

By nada kamooPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Words Search for Home
Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

For two and one half hours she sat down and pondered the fate of words. Whom is to say that one word is more worthy than the next? What words could she set free and what words would sit comfortably in front of her?

Often when writing she would have to console her words: it's ok. Please believe me, someone will love you. But her words never believed her. The words would sit on the page and fidget. Can I use the toilet they would ask? Oh, dear words, please be still. But they were frightened. And they were frightened in a way that didn't allow room for consolation. No matter how many assurances I gave them they simply would not believe me.

Words has seen it too many times before; the invitation to live in a box. The invite always read: We are a great community. We are all the same. We like the same things. You'll fit right in. But the words had great doubt. They knew what was deep inside of them; their individual truth. Words belonged to what was real for them. How could words live in a place where they had to be something they weren't?

No matter how many times I asked and asked nicely, asking in the kindest way...words became indignant. You are a spoiled child, words! But soon words turned a deaf ear. They would not even consider sitting on the edge of the page. They began to have their own dreams; dreams of being free. I tried to explain to words that they could never truly be free. How could they? I searched and searched my mind for the proper way to answer words but my mind was blank. As blank as the page that lay before me, empty and haunting.

It was too late.

Words, come back...I begged and cried, WORDS!!! Words, we were so great together, how could you leave?

Words wanted none of it. It was all or nothing for words. They packed 2 apples, 1 banana and the last of the trail mix to begin their new adventure; they were in search of a real home. A home they could call theirs. My heart was broken and as they were leaving I called out, I'll write. They called back: too soon.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

nada kamoo

"Ickle Me Pickle Me Tickle Me too went for a ride on a flying shoe"...and so my love of reading began with Shel Silverstein just as soon as I could read. Not far behind was my love of writing. I adore poetry and philosophy, Heaven.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.