Poets logo

Words at Night

It feels good to be good, but it can feel good to be bad

By Gene LassPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4

I miss our discussions

Our tales of Oedipus and Elektra

The deep dive

Past the boundaries

Into who we are

And who we’re afraid we could be

I miss the excitement

Of being afraid

And unafraid

The orange glow of adrenaline

Hitting my bloodstream

As I face the truth

You make me see

I miss doing things forbidden

Unbidden

Because we want to do them

Alone together

I miss it all

I want it

But to reach for it

Spoils what we both want more

heartbreak
4

About the Creator

Gene Lass

Gene Lass is a professional writer, writing and editing numerous books of non-fiction, poetry, and fiction. Several have been Top 100 Amazon Best Sellers. His short story, “Fence Sitter” was nominated for Best of the Net 2020.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.