Poets logo

Wonderland

-K

By Kyleigh Richard Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Wonderland
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

Bedtime, we finally lay our tired bodies on a soft cushion staircase, leading us to the beautiful world of dreams. Dreams are pretty complex if I do say so myself. At times, they are a mystical escape from a less enthralling reality.

Even now, through adulthood, I don’t fully comprehend why we have them or where our consciousness goes. It may be a mystery forever, or perhaps one day, some influential figure will find the truth behind them.

From my perspective, dreams keep us creative, inspired, and alive. They show us the things that can be possible, along with the impossible.

To children, however, dreams are less logical. They are landscapes of color, brighter than ever before, flying through the clouds, soaring above the world.

As a child, My mother always read me the book “Alices adventures in wonderland by Lewis Carroll.”

Hearing that story was a dream itself. It became a staple to me throughout my life. As a teenager, I had the book, posters, clothing items with the characters, and even a small tattoo.

This book meant more to me than any others. Full of odd circumstances, quirky characters, and several notable lessons. It has shaped me into the person I am today in endless ways, the most important being that I am writing this today.

My mother breathed life into the characters and, at times, would replace Alice's name with my own. I saw all the qualities Alice possessed and wanted to emulate them

Intelligence, curiosity, creativity, wit, being true to herself, and just a little mad, because let’s be honest, all the best people are!

The lesson that has stuck with me most of all is that following the white rabbit means to follow your heart to your most incredible adventure.

The best times in my life have been those where I jumped straight into the rabbit hole because somehow I knew what was on the other side would be worth it.

surreal poetryliteraturechildrenliterature
Like

About the Creator

Kyleigh Richard

Just a human experiment in consciousness.

(Self-proclaimed Moss Maiden)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 6 months ago

    I love this: following the white rabbit means to follow your heart to your most incredible adventure. What a great and encouraging statement!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.