Poets logo

Woman

We are not so different

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 9 months ago 1 min read

Am I to you merely a face, a pose, a smile

Just a way to spend a pleasant while

A lovely swaying set of hips

A ruby red, wet, set of kissable lips

Perky breasts, slim waist, lithe long legs

A sex object for which a man begs

Do you even see me?

See the human being, the person I am and can be?

As a human I have a mind, a brain

Thoughts, dreams, needs; things to lose, to gain

Just like you I want a better life

I want my days exempt of strife

I want a career, a family, a home

A place of my own from whence I don’t need to roam

Yes, like you I have drives, urges

All people have hormone surges

This makes me neither more nor less than you

We are all intelligent animals escaped from nature’s zoo

Yes, I want a husband with which to share each day

A partner, an equal who listens to what I say

We will BOTH wear a ring, the symbol of our partnership

Side by side, supporting each other through every slip

I desire a man whom I can hold at night

Cuddle with, spoon with, make love with, occasionally fight

I want children to love, hold, protect, raise

Shelter from life’s vicissitudes, it’s shrouded haze

They, as I, can have your last name

I’ll cherish them all the same

Also I want a life of my own

One I can polish, sharpen, hone

I have more t0 give than support for your ego

If that’s all I am to you then please just go

performance poetrysocial commentaryinspirational

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Wow, you have a great understanding of a woman mind, Bravo 👏 👏👏

  • We are all intelligent animals escaped from nature’s zoo. This was my favourite line! It's soooo true! Loved your poem!

Andrew C McDonaldWritten by Andrew C McDonald

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.