Poets logo

Witness the Dusk

A Perfect Part of the Day

By GARY DEANPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
A perfect part of the day

The evening shadows move around me as I watch the setting sun

The warm vestiges of daylight caress my face just before its gone

It the pinnacle of the day, as the golden shower turns to dusk

Tranquility stills my mind as I savour the solitude but for a moment.

And here I stand, motionless, unable to take my gaze away from this beauty.

What higher purpose can there be that can take the heart with such soft caress

As in that moment there is no time, famine or warfare.

No chores to do or planning for tomorrow.

No history to pull you down with its weight of a lifetime past.

There is just peace, a transient reminder of what eternity holds.

Your only purpose at this very moment is just to except it

And let it linger for as long as you dare let it.

It brought you here to resuscitate your belief in life.

So let it do its job and reset your inner calm.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

GARY DEAN

Started writing in 2009, after getting made redundant from my job. Now it is a hobby, something I can enjoy and play about with.

https://twitter.com/Gaznt?s=09

https://sites.google.com/site/gdeanscreativewritingspot/Home

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.