Poets logo

With the Passing of Time...

It is about time I told you this...

By senmialPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Yesterday, I wasn't as old as I am today.

Yesterday, I let my destructive pride get in the way.

Yesterday, I viewed the journey of life through a different lens.

Yesterday is a day I wish could be cleansed.

So...

Today, I come with bent knees and a humble heart.

Today, I come to show contrition for my ignorant acts.

Today, I come to strike a happy medium.

Today, I come to say I am sorry.

For...

For the times I made you feel expendable.

For the times I made you feel like you never deserved to be happy.

For the times I chose everything else over you.

For the times you were in the dark and I never turned the lights on

For the times I ignored the tears and cries in your eyes.

For the times I served you the hot platter of deceit and lies.

For the times I let my naivety get the better of me.

For the times you felt trapped and cried to be free.

For the times I knocked your confidence off.

For the times my toxicity had choked you enough

For the times I laughed at your imperfections

For the times I had truly bad intentions

For the times I said you were incapable

For the times I called you weak

For the times I thought you miserable

And for the words I can never unspeak.

I'm here to make peace

So tomorrow's not bleak

And tomorrow, we die

So forgiveness, I seek.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

senmial

There is nothing more satisfying than finding joy in who we are and become. I am a glass half-full person and a work in progress. Poetry is my means of CATHARSIS and Music is my THERAPY#ToLoveAndBeLoved

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.