Poets logo

With Pride In My Eyes

A reflection of my colourful life

By Mary Jo HanlyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
13
A unique mirror to me

A journey commenced from the nucleus of love

A divine union of seminal beauty

Nurtured by guidance unwavering

*

"Love your mother, earth and matriarch

Be gentle with yourself, for the

Universe is within you" .... Or so Fanny Says

*

The colours blaze in the reflection

Just as the kaleidoscope of a Moleskine

Catalogue of journals, juxtaposed yet seperate and blended by the eye

*

Each a representation of intention

Make it unique, plan ahead, sketch and write

Freestyle. Each pigment a chapter distinctive

*

Vermillion - The tale of bloodshed and in the wake of it grief

I am bereft

Tangerine - In between with its bright and juicy fruit

Stimulating and quenching of thirst

Saffron - Sun and golden light

Brighten my days from the distant dark night

*

My life painted in code, framed in wooded wonder

Resonates starkly in opposition or indifference

Each chapter a story unto its own

*

The lush Emerald - evergreen, giver of life

Nutrients, cellular streaming

The dreaming. Home for creatures and breath

*

Saphire sea - Be with me and gift the sky its blue

Swathe my body in your waves and envelop me with

Every atmospheric loss of hue

*

Indigo - Intuit me.

I trust in the lapis treasures of your trusted counsel

A Violet transcendental being made of the metaphysical embrace.

*

A path coursed through nature, then industry but returning to culture and

The Cobalt Blue of the myriad marine

I sit here in my rightful place at the top of this mountain very comfortably

*

Learning from my communities

With Pride - This is my tribe

By M J Hanly 16th May 2021

social commentary
13

About the Creator

Mary Jo Hanly

Mary-Jo Hanly is a budding philanthropist and as such is working on all her skills to manifest this into her reality. A unique creative that has a breadth and depth of life experience unlike any other history has known. Be a part of this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.