Poets logo

Wisp

Home for a Drifting Spirit

By Heather CumboPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
7
Wisp
Photo by Chantal & Ole on Unsplash

An ethereal spirit

who drifts from crowd to crowd

without ever fitting in

never feels at home

anywhere.

The heart longs for

and belongs to

so many things.

A blue smoky jazz café,

a bonfire by a farmyard pond,

opening night for a Broadway play,

or a quiet book nook with a cup of tea.

I tell people of my past lives.

"I was a hippie once."

"I went through a goth stage."

"I've been to a couple steampunk conventions."

Some see me as a wife and mother.

Some people call me crazy,

or, to be nice, unique.

Or special.

But where is my home?

I am a wisp.

I drift along in this world,

going unnoticed by many,

appreciated by few.

I float among the people who love me,

hoping to leave a gentle impression,

yet knowing I've chilled some hearts.

I make my home where I want.

I do what I want.

I am content.

And I shall never, ever die.

performance poetry
7

About the Creator

Heather Cumbo

I once tried to major in Theatre, but ended up going back to my first love, which is Creative Writing. I am a huge bookworm and film buff. I also like theatre (the costume department), classic rock and folk music, and trying new things.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Love this line, "I drift alone in this world going unnoticed by many, appreciated by few. " Resonated with me - chilling. Hearted and subscribed ❤️

  • This was very empowering! I loved it!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Wow, this spoke to me so much! Beautifully written :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.