Poets logo

Wishing on Paper Planes

what could I be?

By Bugsy WattsPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
2
Wishing on Paper Planes
Photo by Zain Bhatti on Unsplash

I am only as good as the people in the room. I hate that. I will not lift you out of your funk. I will not supply laughter where there is none. I will not be the one to bring the light with me if you want to wallow in darkness. I am only as good as the people in the room. But I want to be better. I wish I laughed more easily. I wish I had dreams. Then I could make plans to get to them. I wish I recalled memories filled with joy when I reminisced, imagining everything my life could be, content with what it is. I wish I threw paper planes with the future scrawled in their folds and competed to see just how far I would go. I wish I could watch the rise and fall of my journey, inhaling and exhaling the way the love of my life breathes deeply in sleep right next to me. The way I imagine he would. And I wish I didn’t wish to be free of loneliness by picturing a fictional you at my side. I wish I found freedom in the single me that I am and balanced myself on a seesaw by having the courage to stand at its fulcrum. I wish I didn’t wither at every unexpected turn but found myself walking on tightropes and falling from airplanes and landing in a pile of adrenaline on mountaintops that kiss the clouds. I wonder if the scale would tip too far if I jumped into the pool before I knew how to swim. But I am still here instead of where I could be. What do the paper planes say? Learn to be free of the people in the room.

Stream of ConsciousnessProseFree Verseart
2

About the Creator

Bugsy Watts

Got bit by the writing bug.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/bugsywattspoetry/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    Your words were so very relatable. I think I wish on paper planes too but for decidedly different things. Beautiful, heartfelt work here :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.