Poets logo

Wishing on a Blue Moon

A mother wishes on a Blue Moon for her Small son's Night Terrors to ease.

By Alicia AnspaughPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Can I wish on a Blue moon

Would that I could

Would that it would work

Morning always comes too late

And yet too soon

The clock ticks on

Tiredness is my constant companion

Rest a distant dream

The nights feels so short

And yet too long

You are so peaceful now

Moments ago you screamed and thrashed

I held you through it all

And now I sit by your side

Unable to sleep

I stroke your hair and I cry

Your night terrors come and go

Night after night

Sometimes once, sometimes twice, sometimes thrice

Iv tried everything, all to no avail

Nothing makes them stop

All I can do is hold you , tell you I'm here & your safe

Mama loves you

Morning will come too soon

I will get no rest tonight

I will sit by your side

I am so tired

And yet I cannot sleep

But I pray that you will find some peace

That you will dream sweet dreams

Dream of a Blue Moon

Can I wish on a 13th full moon

Would that I could

Would that it would work

Morning always comes too late

and yet too soon

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Alicia Anspaugh

Hello! I primarily paint & write non fiction, but I love writing the stories that dance around in my head. Thank you for reading!

Subscribe if you wish!

Positive Vibes,

Alicia

Check out my Metaphysical blog-

desmoinesnewage.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.