Poets logo

Wishes

A Poem

By Andriea MunkeltPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Once I took a bay leaf and on it wrote a wish, I burned the leaf to the moon and thanked her for her kiss but the moon she wasn’t listening and my wish just turned to ash.

Once I lit a fire with smoke as thick as clouds in the hope the setting sun would feel how desperate I was now,

but the sun just set,

as I chocked and the cold of night set it in once again my wish ignored,

once again desperation set in

Once I whispered into the wind in the hopes my message would get carried

up

and up

and up above

so the heavens could take my baggage

but the wind just whistled right on by and my wish was never heard

so I sat amongst the thorns of life crying to the earth.

Once I layed upon the ground crying to the earth, it asked why I was so sad and I replied “because my wishes are never heard” just then I heard the earth sign and

he said to me

“dear child,

you cannot trust the moon for she loves but sits too far,

you cannot trust the flames for she just burns out of desire,

you cannot hope to ask the wind for she is never in the same place more than once”

Once the earth spoke to me and I accepted his embrace for he taught me to trust my footing and he will always support my pace.

I no longer send my wishes up into the sky, I send them down towards the ground and in return he helps me fly

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Andriea Munkelt

I am an amateur poetry writer, just trying to get my work out there hope you like it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.