Poets logo

Wiser, But Not Older

The fear of growing old

By Sarah LoydPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
(image from Pixabay)

Is it bad that I revel in my youth

That I feel like I'm still twenty-two

Is it sad that I don't wanna die

Sooner or later we all do

Yes, I want to be wiser

Wiser, but not older

I want to be smarter

Smarter, but not older

Is it bad that I'm afraid of losing my mind

I'm afraid of losing touch with everything

Is it so strange that I don't slow down

I push myself far like a tire swing

Yes, I want to be stronger

Stronger, but not older

Yes, I want to be wiser

Wiser, but not older

I yearn to be young at heart

Without being a child

Locked in my prime

I'll be forever wild

Reverse in age if I could

Or freeze me in the present

Stop the speed of time

Finally, I'll be content

Never want to older

Smarter, but not older

Stronger, but not older

Wiser, but not older

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Sarah Loyd

I love movies, music, TV, and all things entertaining. I also love to write poetry. Follow me on Twitter @musicl0v3 and on Mix https://mix.com/sarahloyd You can also find me on Pinterest @sloydmarie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.