Poets logo

Wise words

Before sleep

By Pauline FountainPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
13
[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

When you are unwell,

are your experiences still valid or authentic?

When in ‘wellness reality’ they don't reflect what you believe to be the true you?

Nurse Jenny has wise words before sleep.

"Every day is valid and authentic for you in that time and place.

But it will always be a process of reflection and acceptance that you're actions were founded in reason,

it's just that the reason was your illness.”

I showed her profile photos,

from deactivated Facebook accounts.

Capturing my essence during hypomanic times.

She smiled and said, “They are wonderful and reflect your valid and authentic experience.

You can learn to cherish them because of this and it will help you accept.

Make sure to keep them Pauline.

You can park them in the filing cabinet of your mind.

Retrieve them when you are better able to appreciate,

ALL that is you.”

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

• Photos taken 20 April 2012 •

• My diagnosis: Bipolar 1 (Rapid Cycling) and Complex Post Traumatic Stress Disorder •

Pauline Fountain. © 2023. All rights reserved. No part of this work may be used or reproduced without the written permission of the author.

heartbreaksad poetry
13

About the Creator

Pauline Fountain

Writing and photography provide a creative outlet to reflect with meaning on my life.

My mental health? Bipolar 1 (Rapid Cycling), Complex PTSD and Functional Neurological Disorder.

My son’s gentle wisdom furnishes me with the gift of hope.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    🙌☺️ Acceptance is key, as they say. Love this little slice of life!

  • Lilly Cooper10 months ago

    I think that until society at large can view mental health differences without prejudice, people experiencing these things will find it difficult to accept it in themselves. I think being honest and open is a big step in the right direction. It is brave to put this out there :) good on you!

  • Ruth Stewart10 months ago

    Learning to accept ourselves as a whole isn't easy, but clearly, you are doing it! I'm CPTSD too. Kudos to you and nurse Jenny too.

  • Thank you for sharing your experiences with us in this form

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Absolutely wonderful poem, Pauline! You have made so much progress and that is so inspiring :)

  • You know, I love photos like these! It's like an evidence that not all times are bad times. Makes me feel very hopeful. Loved your poem!

  • Mohammed Darasi10 months ago

    You opened up the poem with a powerful question. I love the candid poem Pauline, and I'm glad I read it 😊

  • I understand hypomanic behavior very well. My mom struggles with it. She is 86 years old, completely blind, and in the advanced stages of dementia so when the hypomanic activity hits her it is extremely severe and can last up to five days. Sometimes she will go without sleep for 40 hours. I can totally understand and sympathize with you. Like you my mom has a son that gives her hope - I know because Iam that son. Your son will always be there for you.

  • Pauline I love this poem. I am so proud of you for the progress you have made on your journey and think you for the honesty you have shared with us

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Well done!!! Wise words and positive thoughts!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.