Poets logo

Winter sucks

I Want A Different Kind Of Goosebump

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
9
Winter sucks
Photo by Wendy Aros-Routman on Unsplash

this winter chill bites at my nose

clings to my skin, my hair, my clothes

a quick escape is what I crave

a sandy beach and salty wave

dandelions in a field of green

a beach and coconut sunscreen

a fruity drink to wet my lips

no frost-biting my fingertips

no crunching underneath my feet

unless it's ice chips in my teeth

sucking a lime or tiny straw

wearing a tank top with no bra

no heavy coat or furry glove

the sun on my face is what I'd love

stay up until it's 2 a.m.

get up and do it all again

a little buzz to clear my view

I can't wait till winter is through

*

For Fun
9

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 3 months ago

    Take me there with you! I am allergic to sun but not tropical drinks with rum! Loved this!

  • Poppy 4 months ago

    This flowed so effortlessly and well. Your rhyming was great too! It made me think I should appreciate the summer I'm currently experiencing more haha, but it's so hot🥵😂

  • Lol, I should just copy & paste my comment from Mother Combs' poem. (She hates the snow/cold, too.) Personally, I love it. Though I have to admit that I'm sufficiently the pig to want to see..., well, let's just leave it at that.

  • This is so much fun... & I'm currently enjoying summer! However, I love winter in Australia... some frosty mornings but the day then warms up. "a quick escape is what I crave a sandy beach and salty wave dandelions in a field of green a beach and coconut sunscreen" Great rhyme too.

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    I read this right after shedding the field parka and hoodie I donned just to step out in the back yard with the dogs for a few minutes. Which is to say that, at the moment, I agree. lol Written with that effortless style of yours that I admire. Well done, Kelli!

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    Sounds like paradise!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Amen Sister!!!

  • Joe Patterson4 months ago

    Yes, winter sucks. Bring the heat back.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.