Poets logo

Winter In Minnesota Is Not For The Weak And Childhood Can Be Rough.

Making attempts at the French villanelle!

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
Winter In Minnesota Is Not For The Weak And Childhood Can Be Rough.
Photo by Tony Ross on Unsplash

"Villanelle is a nineteen-line poetic form consisting of five tercets followed by a quatrain. There are two refrains and two repeating rhymes, with the first and third line of the first tercet repeated alternately until the last stanza, which includes both repeated

A tercet is a stanza with only three lines, and a quatrain is a stanza with four lines. Thus, the villanelle has nineteen total lines. There is also a pattern of two refrains, which are repeated lines in a poem or verse. Therefore, in a villanelle, two different lines repeat throughout the poem.

 Lines may be of any length, but are often written in iambic pentameter and follow an ABA rhyme scheme."

Practicing the French villanelle:

Winter in Minnesota is not for the weak

 Good for you for being a snowbird

 We may follow you in another week

*****

Oh, it has been tough for me, so to speak

 Arizona, Florida, Mexico I'd be as happy as that bluebird

Winter in MN is not for the weak

*****

Sounds good today but I can't freak

 Don't always take my word

 We may follow you in another week

*****

I like the idea of a mountain peak

I couldn't live there I've heard

 Winter in MN is not for the weak

 *****

It wouldn't hurt to take a peek

 The snow has made it awfully blurred

 We may follow you in another week

*****

Maybe we could sneak

 A peek on the third

 Winter in MN is not for the weak

 We may follow you in another week

February 22, 2019

 Poem a day in February

Practicing the French villanelle 2:

Childhood can be tough

 It doesn't have to be

 Some have it real rough

***

Many will never have enough

 We won't always see

Childhood can be tough

***

For many years we may bluff

 Note I'm talking we

 Some have it real rough

***

You may think it's all just fluff

 You'll never know what it was like for me

Childhood can be tough

***

So I need to get off my duff

 I could've been an amputee

 Some have it real rough

***

Pick me up by the scruff

 I wasn't an adoptee

 Childhood can be tough

 Some have it real rough

nature poetryheartbreak
5

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Well done! Enjoyed this Villanelle. Beautiful.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    this is great. Well done.

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Nice job - I definitely identified with the poem about MN winter - same here in Northern WI! ❄️

  • I completely missed this but love the form and the mood your convey

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.