Poets logo

Winged Warzone

A poem about the ruthlessness of territorial hummingbirds.

By Madison NewtonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2

Zig zagging divers

bomb the feeder, blinded by

bright red elixir.

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Madison Newton

I'm a recent graduate of Stony Brook University with a degree in Environmental Humanities and Filmmaking. I love writing and storytelling, and I love sharing my work so I can continue to improve my written voice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    This one really captures the nature of the little spaceships flitting around. Did you know they have crazy long tongues. One flew into our glass door a few years ago and knocked itself out. So that the cats wouldn't get it I ran out and picked it up while it recovered. Its tongue was sticking out and it was something like three times as long as the hummingbird's body. Wild!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.