Poets logo

Why You Were Here

"Maybe you were not meant to stay for the long term..."

By Chloe UrquhartPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image by Pixabay

Maybe you were not meant to stay for the long term,

You were there to teach me a lesson in life,

A very valuable one it was too,

It was that it is OK to be on your own sometimes,

That is life.

You were honest, straight, blunt, to the point.

And that is how it sank through to me,

And made me stronger than I was.

You were good as far as I know.

It makes me think of other people,

Even though they hurt me, whether intentionally or unintentionally and it ended on bad terms,

They taught me at least one valuable lesson that has made me stronger.

Whether the people you come across are bad or good, or do good or bad things, they are there, some of them, to serve a purpose.

The time you spent with them was not worthless.

At the time you were probably so convinced they were going to stay.

But it happened for a reason, I’m not sure what but you might work it out one day.

They are meant to teach you lessons, good or bad, in life so even if you do not like the person, be grateful for the experience.

Because it is a unique and wise one.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Urquhart

I enjoy Creative Writing, reading, road running, walking, nature, listening to music, cooking, swimming, pétanque and spending time with family and friends. I also like cats. Feel free to like and share :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.