Poets logo

Why Yoga Changed My Life

From Not Knowing Where to Start to Ending Up Right Where I Needed to Be

By Dani CannonPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
@yogi_wolff

I guess this started the day I was born

The quest for self

The quest to find my purpose

The quest for silence and meaning-fullness

The quest for what was inside of me

Everyone is here for a purpose

Even if you think you aren't

You are

For me it wasn't god who helped me find my way

It wasn't a higher being making my decisions for me

It all came from within myself

I found acceptance through myself

I found forgiveness through myself

Most importantly

I found candor through myself

It was the openness in my heart and mind that allowed me to thrive

It was the strength i found in silence

It was the power i found in a pose

It was yoga

Yoga was a way for me to express myself to myself

I am open about who I am during my practice

That is something I had to learn

I had to learn patience

I had to learn persistence

I had to learn peace

I had to learn empathy towards all living beings

I had to learn self-acceptance

I had to learn self-love

My mat has become my temple as has my body

What I've been through

What I've overcome

My blood, sweat and tears have met my mat

My mat had become my security blanket

My mat had become my home

Therefore, I show my gratitude to my practice and who i am today because of it

Thank you yoga for showing me who I am and who I will become

If you take anything from this, I hope it be that yoga is for anyone. You don't have to be flexible, fit, an extrovert, or thin. Yoga has no boundaries when it comes to who is practicing. It's boundaries lie within the structure of the practice and your willingness to accept the world around you.

If you are reading this, I thank you, for these are my innermost feelings.

Namaste

D

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Dani Cannon

My full name is Danielle, but nobody calls me that.

I've always been Dani

Yogini

Future Archaeologist

Super extroverted, unless a professor asks a question

Crazy personality

In love with a man named Shane

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.