Poets logo

Why to CRY

V

By Valentine CaseyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
@giraffesdoingthings

Why do I cry in the sight of someone swimming in the ocean, playing the role of a mermaid?

Why do I cry when I see someone perform, singing their heart out?

Why do I cry when someone speaks a monologue so strong it brings chills to the hairs on my arms?

Is it out of jealousy, do I want to be them?

Is it I am proud, seeing them accomplish their passions?

Is it out of happiness, knowing it can be done?

Or am I sad, because I can’t bring myself to chose one thing to enjoy?

I ask all these questions. Nit picking every visual, every feeling, ever word spoken.

Draining, not myself from the tears, but from the exhaustion of admiration.

I don’t desire the fame

But I desire the energy they feed the ones watching.

I want to fell that experience from within, and inspire others just the same.

I know questioning helps my brain at ease,

But I wish to no longer question

And just do.

Why is it so hard to just do?

And there I go again…

Focusing on all this growth, feeling like it’s the right thing to do,

Using what little strength I have to write.

It’s easier than using words out loud,

That can’t last forever

No longer an excuse

Or. mystery.

Why do I like mistakes?

In typing I find beauty in errors, leaving them because it shows me something I would not have seen before.

Believing so much in the subconscious I forget that consequences are just as capable to be living with us as we speak, write, eat, and move our feet.

Leaving with a response not closed because I draw each entrance, but I’m afraid of every exit.

art
Like

About the Creator

Valentine Casey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.