Poets logo

Why Should That Mean It Isn't Real?

A poem about a 'child-like faith'

By Kailey AnnPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Why Should That Mean It Isn't Real?
Photo by Dimitar Donovski on Unsplash

As a girl I thought

That I could ask the winds to change direction

That I could fix the tree trunk that snapped

Just by mixing up a potion

And saying some magic words that sounded

More like praying than anything else.

Did it work?

Was it just my imagination or

Did my kite take flight when I begged the winds to pick it up?

Did I really see that sapling heal over green

After I sprinkled it with my special tincture

From the empty glass vanilla bottle

I took from the spice cabinet shelf?

Maybe it was all in my head.

I was only a kid, after all.

But my mind's eye and memories tell a story

That makes me smile.

Because even if the winds have no mind at all,

It sure felt like they moved for me

Maybe just because I believed.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kailey Ann

Author Made in Indiana, USA.

-- I #amwriting Fiction, Poetry, and Multimodal Prose.

-- HEDERAREADS.COM | @bykaileyann

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.