Poets logo

Why I Write

It's who I am!

By Michelle DevonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Why I Write
Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

Take a walk with me

Down this street that is in my mind

Past the houses, past the sidewalks

Past the children's playgrounds and ballparks

Walk past all the things you see

And wander into my memories

The past, the present, the future

All rolled into one event

Inside myself, I control my destiny

Beyond the physical boundaries

Into that part deep in my soul

Lingering in places only I know

When you read the words

Written and meant to be shared

You touch this place inside

Experience the tears I've cried

See the love and anger too

The disappointments and the dreams come true

I don't write for me

And I don't even write for you

I write because I am compelled

To share a story I must tell

It's not a talent I have been given

It is ordained, predetermined

I write because I have no choice

I write because God gave me the voice

For every heart my words will touch

And for my own heart too

I write to share compassion

I write with fevered passion

To show the world the human side

Of conflict, anger, pain and pride

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Michelle Devon

An award-winning author and professional dreamer....Michelle Devon lives on the southern Gulf Coast of Texas with five amazing parrots, and a very tolerant cat. http://michelledevon.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.