Poets logo

WHY I WRITE?

Reasons Why I Write?

By Gladys W. MuturiPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

I never thought of what I am or who I am?

Whether I am obedient, senseless, or weak

When it comes to words coming from my mind

I think about those words that defy me

A writer?

Is that who I am?

I never use words that speak to me

I think of all places that have to meditate me in peace and calm

I think of people's emotions about what they feel

I think of my mother's intelligent words when she used to say to me when she was carrying me in her womb

Words like "Little darling" "my angel" or "Momma's favorite"

The words "I love you, my child" were my favorite words

I began to write

I began to on write on desires, fear, and intelligent words and lives

I write on unspoken and unhealthy feelings

I never write on peoples truth and life

I follow

I follow Shakespeare's words when he say, "To be or not to be" or "But soft what lies thy yonder window breaks"

Words have yonder my writing skills

I am too ill

I remember when I first started spelling the word "different"

D-I-F-F-E-R-E-N-T

I remember when Silverstein and Angelou taught me humor, power, strength, and love

But they didn't teach me anything, I learn from them

I live for them

I live to write

Now I'm happy and strong

I want to sing the words

I want to dance and sway the words

I want to feel the words

I write, I write, I write

Why am I writing?

Why I write?

I write because it helps me express my ways

I write because it rescues me from my madness and insecurities

I write because of pain

I write pain?

Pain has pushed the words out of my mouth

It has punched me and knocked me

But I'm brave from the pain

Words written outside of my skin

Written ideas going through my soul

I write from my mind

I write from my soul

I write from my heart

I write, I write, I write

Why do I write?

I am the reason that I write

To change me, to make me smile, to inspire

I write to be free

I write to be free

I'm writing, now i'm free like a bird flying in the sky

Free-spirited, loyal, and wild

The world is written a thousand words

A zillion words to say

I was born and awake

I was born to write

I'm a writer

Live to write that is why I write

I write

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Gladys W. Muturi

Hello, My name is Gladys W. Muturi. I am an Actress, Writer, Filmmaker, Producer, and Mother of 1.

Instagram: @gladys_muturi95

Twitter: @gladys_muturi

Facebook: facebook.com/gladystheactress

YouTube: @gladys_muturi

patreon.com/gwmuturi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.