Poets logo

Why Don't You Visit Me Anymore?

A letter to my husband

By Dani McGawPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Why Don't You Visit Me Anymore?
Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

Dear Lindsay,

You haven't come to visit

me in a long time...

not in my dreams,

not when I'm awake.

Don't you know how much I still need you?

Maybe you think I'm doing fine

without you, your voice,

your smell.

But I'm not.

Sure, I've finally got my act together

as far as the financial situation goes.

Bet you thought you'd never see that

after you found all those unopened, unpaid bills stacked

on the top of the fridge all those years ago!

Ok, I'm not totally together with the finances,

but I'm close.

I'm sure you think I've moved on.

I mean, I don't spend as much time crying

as I did in the weeks after you died.

Not out loud.

I'm still crying on the inside.

I wish you'd come visit me in my dreams more often

so I could hear your voice,

your laugh, your smile.

Why don't you visit me anymore?

I still need you.

Love,

Danielle

sad poetry

About the Creator

Dani McGaw

Freelance writer & author | More about me here: http://dani.space

Non-fiction: Relationships | Mental Health | Self | Fiction

Fiction: Women's Fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dani McGawWritten by Dani McGaw

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.