Poets logo

Why Do I Write?

Becuase

By Charles WaltonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Because its the way I choose to fight,

With so many voices in my head I question what's actually right so I write.

And write,

And write,

And write.

Hoping the words the path this pen creates is alright.

Staying ready to face whatever demons may come in the night,

When they come and the voices fill my head picking up a pen to shine my light.

So I write, to fight the monsters in my mind that try to tear me down.

So I write to make physical the angels in my mind that guide me around.

I write hoping between these lines I can be redefined,

Maybe one day I'll get back my crown.

I write because to me these words are divine,

If The Word didn't exist in my mind I'd already have run out of time.

art
1

About the Creator

Charles Walton

I am a poet and a man. Just a few of my poems, if you like them my book is now available on Amazon “Letters to Myself Through Time"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.