Poets logo

"Why'd You Leave Me?"

An Ode to a Broken Heart"

By Linda MokeddemPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Broken Heart"

I thought that we had something real

A love that we could never steal

But then you went and broke my heart

Tore us apart, we fell apart

But if you love me, why'd you leave me?

Why'd you go and set me free?

You had my heart, you had my soul

But now I'm left here all alone

I try to move on, but I can't

The memories of us still haunt

I thought that we could make it work

But instead, we just got hurt

But if you love me, why'd you leave me?

Why'd you go and set me free?

You had my heart, you had my soul

But now I'm left here all alone

I wish that you could see

The pain you've caused in me

I thought that we could last

But now we're in the past

But if you love me, why'd you leave me?

Why'd you go and set me free?

You had my heart, you had my soul

But now I'm left here all alone

I thought that we could make it through

But now I'm lost without you

But if you love me, why'd you leave me?

Why'd you go and set me free?

heartbreak

About the Creator

Linda Mokeddem

A skilled writer should not only express their own ideas but also be able to channel the thoughts and feelings of their friends.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    I'm going through a heartbreak now and this was so relatable. Loved this poem!

Linda MokeddemWritten by Linda Mokeddem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.