Poets logo

Why Are You My Whole World

I'm done breaking over you, but I do it all over again anyway.

By Shallom KimanziPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Dear Kansen,

All my highs were you, all my lows were you. Every painful memory I have of my teenage years is you, and almost all my favorite memories of high school, you’re in the middle of it. I get Deja Vu when all of our favorite songs are playing, and when all of the lyrics of our favorite songs are sang.

I know trusting a hundred percent that you wouldn’t hurt me was a dumb thing for me to do but I still did it. I lost all my senses, just to feel you. I didn’t think much of it that our favorite music to listen to together were sad songs, but I see now that it was a premonition of how things would turn out to be for both of us. I know, from your friends, that this sadness I do not share alone so here’s all the songs and lyrics we fell in love with and fell for each other with and will eventually get us through all that we are trying to get past.

We made playlists together, that was our love language. When we danced and played soccer to our favorite songs. When we burned the kitchen making noodles to our party playlist. To all the nights we spent together, swinging on our swing set looking at our houses and to all the pain we put each other through. Here’s to our undying dead love.

I’ll call this chapter: All these coffins and graves are our home ground now. Enjoy.

https://music.apple.com/us/playlist/all-these-coffins-and-graves-are-our-home-ground-now/pl.u-8aAVoo1Uv7zPJxG

heartbreakfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Shallom Kimanzi

I love writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.