Poets logo

WHO KNEW...What and/or Why She Wouldn’t Share?

PPS YES!

By christy jordanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
WHO KNEW...What and/or Why She Wouldn’t Share?
Photo by Cristian Newman on Unsplash

Hello. My name is CJ,

February 30 is the day.

Once upon a time,

My Mema wrote in rhyme,

so I thought, what the heck,

maybe I'll follow in her footsteps.

Where would I go?

I had to know.

I found Mema’s small black notebook,

and I decided to take a look.

I remember she herself spent so much time in there.

I never knew...What and why she wouldn’t share?

Inside was so amazingly frightening!

Which made it OMG! Enlightening!

A big fat check for 20 grand!

And a poem she wrote by hand.

What and/or Why She Wouldn't Share

Because, I care.

I had no doubt, someday, this day would come.

All of my secrets revealed, and then some...

Some not-so commonalities, far from the norm.

My story, written in its shortest form.

My mother was mean.

I left home at sixteen.

Then I was raped by my dad

And by numerous others after that.

All the abusive husbands ever did for me,

Was to make four kids and leave.

Drinkin’ and druggin’.

Stealin’ and thuggin’.

I went to prison, did three on a four.

Of that, I didn't want any more.

The first two grandbabies came and left.

Taken away by CPS.

I struggled again, with everything, especially my sobriety.

Complete withdrawal from this troubled society.

And then came you, my dearest darling, CJ.

I thank God for you each and every day!

I hope you are old enough,

To clearly see some stuff.

All of these letters; To: ____ From: Me

Looking back I see...

Only you and I knew...I more than paid the price,

With my deteriorating mental sacrifice.

So now you know...What and/or Why She Wouldn’t Share?

And that is only because of you, that it is, because I care!

That makes all of this just for you.

Always be genuine, kind, honest, and true.

Keep your head up and your mind and eyes open.

And, always remember I’ll always be watching and hoping,

that with some help,

you will someday find your real self!

Don't let the past define, or confine,

Like me. Stay strong! Be free!

Yours truly, Me

With all my love

From above?

PS YES!

Beware! Whatever I’ve got,

you caught!

Spend this money wisely, CJ, honey.

It’s all of my Vocal writing contest prize money!

Who knew...Now I do. So do you.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

christy jordan

I am a 54/yo grandmother and I have been writing my autobiography for all of my life. only recently I have decided that it is time to share. 🥇✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.